Western Sahara Travel Overview

At a glance

Capital: El Aaiun (See more on BAGLIB.COM)

Official language: Arabic

Continent: Africa

Occupied and mined desert

Western Sahara never achieved autonomy. After the colonial government withdrew, the country was occupied by Morocco, which still lays claim to the area.


Western Sahara is located in North Africa. It largely borders on Mauritania and has a narrow border strip with Morocco in the north. The status of the region has not yet been clarified. As the Democratic Arab Republic of the Sahara, the region is only recognized by 53 countries.


The drive from West Sahara to Mauritania is only possible on the official road and secured by a mine field on the left and right. For the border crossing to Mauritania you should have plenty of time and a good knowledge of French.


Western Sahara has been an area annexed to Morocco since 1975. The United Nations maintains the MINURSO permanent observation mission across the country. Traveling to Western Sahara is generally not advisable, as parts of the country and especially the border area with Morocco are mined.


Continent: Africa

Geo coordinates: N 24 ° 12 ‘55.9 ” W -12 ° -53’ -9″

Highest mountain: unnamed (463 m)

Total area: 266,000 km²

Mainland: 266,000 km²

National border: 2,046 km

Coastline: 1,110 km


Dependency: Morocco since 1976


Electricity consumption: 95 million KWh

Oil consumption: 1,800 million m³

Cultivation area: 0.02%

Demographic data

Residents: 273,000

Country codes and abbreviations

ISO 3166 Alpha 2: EH

ISO 3166 Alpha 3: ESH

ISO 3166 numeric: 732

Top Level Domain: eh


Source: Abbreviationfinder


Main religious group: Muslims